Language Arts

The Language Arts (English) program provides a variety of course offerings in literature, writing, speaking, media and drama. Students gather, synthesize, and evaluate information and ideas, and work to increase higher order thinking skills that cross disciplines. Required courses cover language arts (reading, writing, speaking and listening) American and world literature, composition. Advanced level courses, including Advanced Placement Language and Composition, are available. Electives are offered in acting, creative writing, film studies, and yearbook publishing.

Glen Skov, Department Head 
651-403-7300 | ex. 3178
| glenn.skov@isd197.org

Katie Carter
651-403-7300 | ex. 3108
| katie.carter@isd197.org

Janelle Christensen
651-403-7300 | ex. 3110
| janelle.christensen@isd197.org

Ann Henry
651-403-7300 | ex. 3129
| ann.henry@isd197.org

Joanna Imm
651-403-7300 | ex. 3133
| joanna.imm@isd197.org

Julie Johnson
651-403-7300 | ex. 3136
| julie.johnson@isd197.org

Dan McCormick 
651-403-7300 | ex. 3151
| daniel.mccormick@isd197.org

Katie Morgart
651-403-7300 | ex. 3155
| kathryn.morgart@isd197.org

Erica Ramisch
651-403-7300 | ex. 3164
| erica.ramisch@isd197.org

Kelly Smalstig
651-403-7300 | ex. 3179
| kelly.smalstig@isd197.org

Suzanne Temple-Gumm 
651-403-7300 | ex. 3181
| suzanne.temple@isd197.org

Amy VanDamme
651-403-7300 | ex. 3186
| amy.vandamme@isd197.org